2012/2013 Principality Premiership
Bedwas 8 v 13 Cross Keys
22 February 2013 - Bridge Field, Bedwas
Cross Keys

Match Preview

Bedwas v Cross Keys Principality Premiership

Cross Keys make the short trip to the Bridge Field to take on Bedwas in the Principality Premiership on Friday evening.

This fixture may well prove to be a tense and probably close fought clash, as games between the two so often are. The sides are separated by just 4 points in the league table with Bedwas currently sat in 2nd position and Keys in 3rd. Both sides have serious play-off ambitions so Friday's game could have a huge bearing on what the two side's will be aiming for come the end of the season, especially as Keys and Bedwas were knocked out of the Swalec Cup last weekend, meaning the Principality Premiership is now the only focus for the two sides.

In the fixture between the two sides played at Pandy Park earlier in the season, Bedwas were the victors by 31 points to 28, in a match probably best remembered for the dominance of the referee's whistle. For Keys Rhys Peebles crossed for a try whilst Dean Gunter kicked an amazing total of 7 penalties plus a conversion. Bedwas also only crossed for one try with full back Stuart Thomas crossing and Richard Powell went one better than Gunter with 8 penalties and a conversion.

Results from previous games prove that the outcome of this game is unpredictable but it certainly will be entertaining, nail-biting and also pretty tense.Cross Keys will welcome back Rhys Peebles from injury as well as Phil Williams who is included on the bench having not played for Keys since the Swalec Cup final in May 2012, due to a shoulder injury which required surgery that has kept Phil out of action until now. Pontypool hooker Ben Parry is again included on permit for Keys.

The Cross Keys team to take on Bedwas is as follows:-

15. Gareth David
14. Luke Williams
13. Leon Andrews
12. Luke Ford
11. Nathan Trowbridge
10. Dean Gunter
9. Ryan James

1. Richard Cornock
2. Ben Parry
3. Anthony Lott
4. Danny Hodge
5. Tom Lampard
6. Rhys Peebles
7. Rob Nash (c)
8. Adam Powell

Replacements: James Johnstone, Rhys Miller, Craig Gould, Ollie Hodge, Scott Matthews, Rhys Dyer, Dorian Jones, Phil Williams.

Bedwas v Cross Keys Principality Premiership
Venue: The Bridge Field, Bedwas
Date: 22nd February 2013
Kick Off: 7.15pm
Referee: Neil Hennessey Touch Judges: Matthew Thomas & Gareth John